About Left Overs

My name is Holly Ann and I’m an avid zombie and horror fan.  I’m currently working for work as a teacher, but sometimes the going is rough.  I live at home with my parents and our Boston Terrier, Lily [nicknamed Bear].

As far back as I could remember I have read horror themed books.  I started with R.L. Stein and moved on to books by authors Stephen King and H. P. Lovecraft, among others.  The first Stephen King book I ever read was “The Shining“.  I thought it was great and have been hooked ever since !  As I continue to blog I will be adding more reviews of their work.

My movie preferences have likewise been dominated primarily by the horror genre.  The first horror movie I remember seeing was Tobe Hooper‘s Texas Chainsaw Massacre.  It scared the life out of me !  Another movie that I remember scaring me was Trilogy of Terror [3 I believe?].  It was the movie that featured the vignette “He Who Kills”.  I must have had nightmares about that doll for months.  Even now I can remember the scene where there is a girl stuck in a closet, and the doll is on the other side.  He’s a little aboriginal looking wood carved doll with wild hair and eyes.  The girl desperately opens the door and holds out a suitcase and he goes tearing into it yelling and waving his spear.  Eek !  Freaky.

My first video game was Resident Evil 4 [not because of my age but because at a young age the importance of reading was impressed on me – I was never given an Atari, and my first gaming system was a PS2 which I received for my 20th birthday.  I’m currently working through the campaigns in Left 4 Dead and Left 4 Dead 2, although I’m painfully slow.  My navigational abilities are nonexistent.

I created this blog as a relief for my boyfriend, friends, and family, who are almost positive that I unable to function without zombies, and they may be correct.  I would also like to get in touch with other zombie and horror fanatics in the hopes of discovering more interesting media.  Please feel free to comment on the posts, but remember to be respectful to one another.

I hope some day to begin writing my own horror fiction, and perhaps be published.

By the way, the picture on my pages is my Boston Terrier, Lily, menacing a pull apart zombie doll.  I figured a smidge of humor was necessary.

10 thoughts on “About Left Overs

  1. Hi, Holly Ann!

    Thanks for the kind words about “Loss of Vector” in Zombie Zoology. I can’t think of any higher praise than needing to leave your lights on after reading my story.

    🙂

    Will

  2. Will on January 20th, 2011 at 2:55 pm
  3. Hello, Will !

    Thank you for writing a stand-out story ! Also, a huge thank you for reading my post ! My blog is still relatively new and I’m glad to see that the audience I’m reaching includes the authors. (And yes, no lie, I did keep my lights on.)

    🙂

    ~ Holly Ann

  4. deadaeris on January 21st, 2011 at 1:40 am
  5. Hi, Holly Ann!

    Nice to meet you — and thanks for the Zombie Zoology review! You know, that picture you have of Lily with the dangling zombie doll is very similar to the scene of the Yule Cat with its dangling prey, even down to size proportion … how life imitates art sometimes 🙂

    Keep up the good work!

    Cheers,
    –Ted

  6. Ted on January 21st, 2011 at 11:25 am
  7. Hello there, Ted !

    It’s a pleasure meeting you as well ! I’m always glad to read good zombie literature – thanks for writing such a wild story ! You know, I never thought about the connection to the Yule Cat – sort of a Yule Dog for those of the canine persuasion.

    I’m hoping to write my own zombie stories some day, but for now I’m happy just wading through the sea of great stories out there. 🙂

    Thanks again for stopping by the site – it’s a great feeling to see that you and other authors are noticing my reviews.

    ~ Holly Ann

  8. deadaeris on January 21st, 2011 at 9:31 pm
  9. Hey,

    It was nice to meet another brain gnawing fan today. Let me know how you like The Rising, I’m sure you will love it.

    I also love your site so far. I will be sure to check more of it out later, its time for homework now haha.

  10. Alonzo on January 29th, 2011 at 9:42 pm
  11. Hey there –

    It definitely was nice to meet another zombiephile ! Thanks for the recommendations – our local bookstores are out of them at the moment but I’m putting them on order. I can’t wait to begin !

    Yeah – definitely check back – I’m working a ton of hours this week but hopefully I’ll be able to get some new stuff up there soon.

    ~ deadaeris

  12. deadaeris on January 30th, 2011 at 10:10 pm
  13. I am way late to this party due to an unintended hiatus. I read your review of Zombie Zoology just today, and I (J Gilliam Martin) wanted to thank you for such wonderful words. I busted my ass on that short (and lost a chunk of my soul), and when I hear people enjoy, or hate it (I prefer the former, of course), it was all worth it. I will be watching your blog, and writing more crazy things for you to read (eventually).

  14. Justin Martin on September 15th, 2011 at 10:42 am
  15. Thank you for stopping by my site! It’s always good to know that the authors are actually getting their well-deserved praise, and I’m always glad when an author is pleased with my assessment of their story.
    That story was absolutely crazy! I live out in the country, and every time I pass a horse farm, that’s all I can think of (which is fairly often). I loaned the book to my best friend, but he didn’t get past “The Yule Cat” because the whole premise of the book freaked him out. How on Earth did you come up with a story like that?! It was crazy and well written, and had a totally unexpected ending.

    ~ deadaeris

  16. deadaeris on September 16th, 2011 at 8:39 pm
  17. I remember the story originally started because I wanted mine to be the one in the collection that wasn’t just about a zombified animal harassing people. It evolved into taking various aspects of my life and creating a similar character, but making him suffer far worse. It is a story very close to my heart, and I consider it one of the greatest things to come out of my brain to date, so to hear it affected you so much is just wonderful. I wish I had seen your review earlier, because it really motivated me and I have gotten a lot of work done this week, so thanks again!

  18. Justin Martin on September 23rd, 2011 at 9:22 pm
  19. Sorry it’s taken so long to respond! I recently got a job teaching, so my time has been significantly less.
    It’s a wonderful story – one that stays with me when I think of the book. Sometimes writing can be cathartic, and it can help you think about things that have happened in a different light. I’m sorry that you went through some bad times. I’m hoping that you’ll write more stories and get them published soon! I’m glad to be a motivator. Some day I’d like to write stories like all of you. Funny thing is, I get a basic idea but can’t really articulate it.
    Let me know when you get anything else out there! I’d love to read it.

  20. deadaeris on October 17th, 2011 at 10:12 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


8 + 1 =